Department of Chemistry has emerged from Chemical Engineering education in Istanbul Technical University. Chemical Engineering education in Istanbul Technical University has started in ITU Technical School, Department of Chemistry in 1958 and the first Chemical Engineers have graduated in 1962.

This branch, established by Prof. Dr. Nami Serdaroğlu, has changed to İTÜ Engineering-Architechture Faculty (İTÜ-MMF) Chemical Engineering Department with a change made in 1973. The foundation of Chemical Faculty has been realized in 1963 with Law number 333 and established in Maçka campus as the 6th faculty of the university.

The Faculty of Chemistry was formed from 6 sub-departments as Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry and Essences of Chemical Engineering.

Between the years 1963-1969, 5-year program was used which was identical to a master's program in Chemical Engineering. Beginning with the year 1969, a dual system was adopted, which had 4 years as undergraduate and 2 years as master's program.

In 1982, Analytical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, and relevant departments in İTÜ MMF Chemical Engineering Department were united to form the Department of Chemistry in the Basic Sciences building in Ayazağa Campus, which is now the Science and Letters Faculty.

The professors and associate professors who worked in 1970s and 1980s and either passed away or left were enlisted below with their ranks at that time.

Analytical Chemistry Division

Prof. Dr. Remziye Hisar, Prof. Dr. Ertuğrul Ayça, Prof. Dr. Özer Bekaroğlu, Doç. Dr. Semra Akçetin , Doç. Dr. Dündar Akçetin

Physical Chemistry Division

Prof. Dr. İlhami Civaoğlu -Rektör-, Prof. Dr. Talat Erben, Prof. Dr. Nevzat Önal, Prof. Dr. Ahmet İsfendiyaroğlu, Prof. Dr. Bahattin Baysal, Doç. Dr. Efraim Avşar, Doç. Dr. Rıdvan Kurt Tokay, Doç. Dr. Ayfer Aydın

Inorganic Chemistry Division

Prof. Dr. Cemil Dikmen, Prof. Dr. Cevdet Aydoğan, Doç. Dr. Ülkü Oyman, Doç. Dr. İnci Tezcan, Doç Dr. Yurdagül Öcal

Organic Chemistry Division

Today, these four sub-departments form the Department of Chemistry, and Chemistry undergraduate education, chemistry master of science education and chemistry doctorate of philosophy, along with Polymer Science & Technology, a multidisciplinary Master of Science and Doctorate of Philosophy programs are open for admissions.